watchthis: The Great Gatsby (2013)

Image

Being a huge Baz Luhrmann and Leonardo DiCaprio fan I am, I was definitely excited to go see the latest film adaptation of The Great Gatsby in theatres. I just finished reading the novel a couples of days before I saw the film, too, so I was beyond pumped. And I can fully believe that the movie was worth the hype.

I LOVED IT. It was incredibly accurate to the novel, the acting was superb, and the music was amazing (I know that many people complained about the blending of modern music into a film set in the 1920’s, but, hello! This is from the director who gave us Romeo+Juliet, and last time I checked, Romeo didn’t carry a pistol or groove to Radiohead in the Elizabethan era).

The fact that the classic story was able to be portrayed as something that could happen just as easily today shows the true success of the filmmaking team. The costumes, music, and beautifully styled sets contribute perfectly to the glitz-and-glam atmosphere of Fitzgerald’s famous world of luxury. I raise my champagne glass to you, Luhrmann!

If you haven’t seen Gatsby yet, please do! It won’t be in theatres for much longer (some cities have already stopped playing it). Independent theatres are likely to pick it up for short runs once it finishes in the major theatres, though, so if you haven’t found the time yet, there is no need to panic.

If you have seen Gatsby, what did you think of it? Were you amazed and delighted like I was? Or did you find the fashionable attempt at a revamp fell flat? Let me know in the comments!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “watchthis: The Great Gatsby (2013)”

  1. xtg120 says :

    Reblogged this on xtg120.

Leave a Reply

