Archie is Headed to Hollywood: Archie Comics Feature Film Announced

Archie is Headed to Hollywood: Archie Comics Feature Film Announced

Many of us grew up reading Archie comics, and now, for the first time ever, the classic comic series is officially getting its first ever feature film.

The film is slated to be produced by Warner Bros. Pictures, directed by Jason Moore (of Pitch Perfect fame) and written by Glee and Marvel comics writer Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Aguirre-Sacasa has stated that he aims to make the film a quintessential teen summer movie.

The comic series is over 70 years old as has captivated people for decades. My aunts and uncles have been reading the comics for decades, and my sister and I have grown up reading them at my cottage in the summer. Because of this close connection and nostalgic love for the series, I am excited to hear about this new development! I kid you not, I LITERALLY was thinking about how someone should make an Archie feature-film Wednesday night, and boom, Thursday it was announced!

My only fear is that the characters will be changed during the writing process to better create some teen angst and drama. Of course, some drama is necessary to create a movie, but I sincerely hope they don’t give Aguirre-Sacasa complete control of the characterization – I’m hoping the Archie team will ensure that things will remain truthful and loyal to the actual comics.

No news yet about potential release dates or casting, but based on the summery goals of the team, summer 2015 could be a plausible option.

How about you guys? Does an Archie movie excite your inner child? Let me know!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Archie is Headed to Hollywood: Archie Comics Feature Film Announced”

  1. pottergleefan4 says :

    OH MA GOSH I CAN’T WAIT! Do you know an estimated date of arrival or is it too far ahead to say?

Leave a Reply

